| 
			 The league said officials should have stopped play and eliminated 
			confusion about the down and distance at the end of the Giants' 
			24-17 victory at Washington. 
 			"I talked to Dean earlier today, he gave me a call and just went 
			over the scenario," Shanahan said, referring to Dean Blandino, who 
			oversees NFL officiating. "Obviously they made a mistake and you 
			live with it."
 			With New York leading by seven points just after the two-minute 
			warning, a catch by the Redskins' Pierre Garcon on second-and-5 was 
			spotted short of a first down at the Washington 45. Referee Jeff 
			Triplette signaled third down. But the head linesman, with the 
			Redskins in a hurry-up offense, incorrectly motioned for the crew to 
			advance the chains, which caused the down boxes to read first down.
 			"In this situation where there is obvious confusion as to the status 
			of the down, that play should have been stopped prior to third down 
			and the correct down communicated to both clubs," Blandino said 
			Monday in a statement. "This should have occurred regardless of the 
			fact that Washington had no timeouts and it was inside two minutes." 			
			
			 
 			Only the referee can rule and signal a first down. The official 
			nearest to the down markers and chain crew, the head linesman, is 
			required to wait for that first-down signal from the referee before 
			moving the chains. That did not happen at FedEx Field.
 			After Washington's incomplete pass on the next play — which many 
			Redskins believed was on first down — the chains were moved back and 
			the down boxes correctly reset to fourth down.
 			Blandino said instant replay review was not used on Garcon's catch 
			because the replay official determined the ball was "correctly 
			spotted short of the line to gain for a first down."
 			Shanahan was asked if he would be in favor of scrapping the chains 
			and using laser technology to help spot the ball.
 			"You talk about it at the owners' meeting, kind of go through the 
			variables, exactly how accurate it is and how it would be 
			implemented," he said. "I think there's a lot of technology that you 
			could possibly use, but before you do that, you go through all the 
			situations and find out if it's effective and how effective." 			
			
			 
 			
            [to top of second column] | 
      
		 Redskins quarterback Robert Griffin III said the confusion affected 
			the play calling. "The chain said first down, and then when we 
				came back, we think it's second-and-10, and they're yelling out 
				it's fourth down," Griffin said. "No explanation. No 
				measurement. Didn't stop the clock to allow the chains to move 
				back. And we just had to go ahead and call the play."
 				Griffin did complete a 6-yard pass to Garcon on fourth-and-1, 
				but safety Will Hill stripped the ball. The Giants then ran out 
				the clock.
 				"I told him I wanted a measurement because I knew it was close," 
				Shanahan said, not specifying which official he was referring 
				to. "It was inches. And he said, 'No, it's a first down.' And he 
				moved the chains. And then after I saw it was fourth down, I 
				asked him, 'You already told me it was first down.' He didn't 
				say anything. So that was quite disappointing."
 				Speaking to a pool reporter Sunday night, Triplette said: "We 
				signaled third down on the field. The stakes were moved 
				incorrectly. After that play, we said it was still third down. 
				We had signaled third down prior to the play starting. The 
				stakes just got moved incorrectly."
 				Triplette defended not stopping play, saying it would have given 
				an "unfair advantage." But Blandino said Monday that was the 
				wrong decision. 								
			
			 
 				Giants defensive end Justin Tuck, who played every snap, said he 
				was aware it was not a first down.
 				"I remember turning to the referee and saying, 'That's not a 
				first down,'" Tuck said Monday. "Obviously, they're hurrying 
				up, you don't really have time to argue it.
 				"I think at the end of the day, it was actually the right call. 
				It might not have come across in the right manner, but I think 
				it was the right call. And when the ball is getting snapped that 
				fast, it's very tough for a referee to get all of these calls 
				right."
 				___
 				AP NFL website: 
http://pro32.ap.org/  [Associated 
					Press; BARRY WILNER, AP Pro Football Writer] AP Sports Writers Joseph 
			White and Tom Canavan contributed to this report. Copyright 2013 The Associated 
			Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, 
			broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. |